Where to Watch the 2014 Election Results Live Online

November 4, 2014

i-voted-rfIf you’re like me, you have cancelled the cable, shut off the satellite, and turned in your DVR. No thanks, cable TV… I will not pay $75-$150 per month to get 200 channels and realize there is still “nothing good on TV”. However, every once in a while I get an itch to turn on the tube for live coverage of a major news event. Tonight is one of those nights.

 
While many Americans equate the midterm election results to a five-hour C-SPAN3 snooze marathon, I block off the hours and put the “Do Not Disturb” sign on the family room door. The results of these important, yet often overlooked, midterm elections play a vital role in the direction of federal, state, and local fiscal policy. The midterms have also shown a strong correlation to stock market movements in the days and weeks following election day.

So, what is a cable-less, DISH-less family to do on election night? We have put together a list of live streaming election results coverage below (courtesy of Gigaom research). So, order a pizza, cut up the veggies, and pop some popcorn… and enjoy the election results: NO CABLE REQUIRED!

  • The first polls are closing at 6pm ET / 3pm PT in Indiana and Kentucky. Check this map on the Daily Kos for hour-by-hour closing times across all states, and check this website if you still need to find the address and closing time of your local polling station.
  • ABC News will stream its coverage of the election, which is being anchored by George Stephanopoulos, live on YouTube, ABCNews.com, the ABC News mobile apps and Apple TV starting at 4pm PT / 7pm ET and all the way until 2am ET / 11pm PT.
  • Bloomberg Politics will launch into an election all-nighter with a ton of studio guests as well as reports from correspondents around the country on YouTube starting at 2pm PT / 5pm ET.
  • CBSNews.com will live-stream the Network’s coverage starting with the CBS Evening News at 6:30pm ET / 3:30pm PT, and follow up with updates and specials throughout the evening on its website.
  • CNN is following the election results with a live stream of Peter Hamby’s Hambycast, starting at 8pm ET / 5pm PT on CNNPolitics.com. The network is also streaming its live TV coverage, but only to authenticated pay TV subscribers.
  • Comedy Central will stream special live editions of the Daily Show with John Stewart and the Colbert Report on YouTube, starting at 6:45pm PT / 9:45pm ET.
  • C-SPAN will stream a total of six hours of election coverage on its website, starting at 5pm PT / 8pm ET.
  • Fox News Latino will have bilingual election coverage on YouTube starting at 6pm PT / 9pm ET.
  • Fusion is calling its live election coverage Midterm Mayhem, has its show co-hosted by Kal Penn of Harold & Kumar fame, and is streaming live on YouTube starting at 6pm PT / 9pm ET.
  • NBC will live stream its NBC Nightly News election coverage with Brian Williams with both an East Coast edition (10-11pm ET) as well as a West Coast version (10-11pm PT) on its website. And online coverage will continue even after the network switches back to the regular programming on TV.
  • PBS NewsHour will stream its coverage, which is co-anchored by Gwen Ifill and Judy Woodruff, on YouTube starting at 3pm PT / 6 pm ET.
  • Politico will have a live show on its website between 5pm and 6:15pm PT / 8pm and 9:15pm ET.
  • USA Today is live streaming its election coverage on YouTube as well.
  • The Wall Street Journal will stream an election edition of its Capital Journal on YouTube, starting at 5:30pm PT / 8:30pm ET.
  • Just the numbers, please: Don’t want a live stream, but just the results of all the key House and Senate races, plus any important state contests and ballot measures? Politico’s election results site breaks it all down.

The above 2014 election live streaming information was provided courtesy of Gigaom research.

Get

Jerry
Robinson's

Best

Selling Book

Purchase Today

Please help us spread the word about FollowtheMoney.com on Facebook, Twitter,
and any other social media outlets.

Silver & Gold

Call 800-247-2812 now for the best prices on gold and silver coins and receive Free Shipping and Insurance when you mention Follow the Money.

Weekly Newsletter

Sign up today to receive The Robinson Report (Lite Edition) for free each weekend.